Sammy Miller Motorcycle Museum

Last September, the author of these words finally managed to visit the Goodwood Revival in Great Britain (fabulous event, you should go for yourself one day). During the course of this little trip, I seized the opportunity to visit Sammy Millers Motorcycle Museum in New Milton, Hampshire.

Sammy Miller, the man behind the museum, 11 times British Champion and winner of over 1400 events in a racing carrier spanning more than fifty years, might easily qualify as an expert when it comes to motorcycles, don’t you think?

However, the museum bearing his name is no less impressive than its owner’s career. I dare say most of you readers (who should be aficionados of old bikes since you landed on this website) might blow a fuse when entering this building. You might even wonder whom or what to sell or rob at home in order to get your fingers on any of the beauties exhibited here. Trust me, I did. However, even if the fairy godmother granted you one single bike to take home, most of us would probably struggle to make a choice.

Upon arrival at the museum, the reception tells you to anticipate four hours to appreciate the whole collection. However, if you plan to have a look at the sheer bulk of posters, engines, technical explanations and other motorcycle related stuff on display, make sure to add a few more hours to that.

But, rest assured; if you’re afraid to lose your mind and swoon, there’s a Tea House in the courtyard of the museum serving drinks and nibbles.

Oh, by the way: New Milton is located in New Forest National Park, a fabulous nature reserve. Here, splendid forests and landscapes invite visitors to extensive hikes. Therefore, if your lovely companion is not keen spending her/his day surrounded by Brough Superiors, NSU Rennmaxes, Moto Guzzi V8’s or one of the many other holy grails of vintage motorcycles, you can easily send her/him to the sticks! Just make sure to remember picking her/him up afterwards…

See all the pictures in the gallery below:

« of 65 »

Leave a reply

Sammy Miller Motorcycle Museum

En mi-septembre cette année, l’auteur de ces lignes s’est enfin déplacé vers le Royaume Uni afin de visiter le Goodwood Revival (manifestation géniale, à recommander…). Lors de ce petit voyage, j’ai aussi profité de visiter le Sammy Miller Motorcycle Museum dans le patelin de New Milton, situé dans le comté du Hampshire.

Sammy Miller, propriétaire du musée qui porte son nom, est onze fois champion britannique en trial et compte plus de 1400 victoires dans différentes compétitions sur son palmarès. Il me semble que cela lui garantit une certaine légitimité quand on parle de motos.

Mais la réputation du musée lui-même n’est guère inférieure. Et cela se confirme dès qu’on franchit les portes du bâtiment. Je suis convaincu que cette expo devrait épater chacun qui lit ces lignes (et devrait, en conséquence, être intéressé par les vieilles machines). L’idée de brader ou de dévaliser qui ou quoique ce soit afin de pouvoir ramener l’une ou l’autre de ces bécanes n’est pas exagérée. Mais même si on aurait le droit d’en choisir l’une ou l’autre, je pense que beaucoup d’entre nous auraient des problèmes à faire un choix.

Lors de la réception à l’entrée du musée, on vous conseille de prévoir environ quatre heures pour la visite du musée. Cela devrait suffire si on ne veut admirer que les motos. Si, par contre, on veut aussi inspecter les milliers d’affiches, explicatifs techniques, moteurs et autres accessoires exhibées, comptez plus tôt l’un ou l’autre heure supplémentaire.

Et si toutes ces merveilles motorisées vous affaiblissent, sachez que dans la cour du musée se trouve un petit Tea House qui sert des boissons et des grignotages.

D’ailleurs ; New Milton se trouve au bord du New Forest National Park. Ce fabuleux parc national invite à des randonnées exhaustives. Si votre accompagnement n’est donc pas enthousiaste à passer une journée bourrée de Brough Superiors, NSU Rennmax, Moto Guzzi V8 ou d’autres Saint Graal de l’univers des deux-roues, sachez que vous pouvez toujours la bannir dans les bois. Pensez quand-même à aller la chercher après votre visite…

Trouvez toutes les images dans la gallerie ci-dessous:

« of 65 »

Leave a reply